The Music Maestro

Someone once said “music is what feelings sound like”.  I agree – don’t you ever find yourself in the ‘mood’ to only listen to certain songs or music?

I thoroughly enjoy listening to music, and I’m a big believer in having an appreciation for every kind of music out there…and there are so many! Rap, RnB, Hip Hop, Classical, Country, Opera, Rock n Roll, Tango, Techno, Pop…the list goes on.

I’m not saying that I’m a huge fanatic of every genre. What I am a fan of is the expression of music – and the fact that someone has created a unique art that they can call their own and have others appreciate it. Every genre of music is an expression of something, and every note has a story to tell.  Afterall, it’s music that brings the world closer. It’s music that allows for rhythm, beats, and dance. It’s music, that created the one and only A.R. Rahman.

For those of you who haven’t heard of him as the number one music director in the Bollywood industry, I’m sure you would recognize him as the winner of a Golden Globe award, a double Grammy winner and double Oscar winner for the music direction of the infamous film of 2008, Slumdog Millionaire. I recently  had the chance to attend A.R. Rahman’s world tour ‘Jai Ho’ concert in September. To say the least, I was simply awestruck. His music has this consistent tendency to blow me away each and every time.

A.R. Rahman has not only created music for Bollywood films, but has also shared his magic through musicals such as Bombay Dreams and The Lord of the Rings Musical. Recently, he has had the opportunity to create the theme music for the Delhi 2010 Commonwealth Games held in Delhi, India. Watch his outstanding performance at the opening ceremony!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment